Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Press Release No.2 Dt. 04-04-201706-04-2017
Press Release No.2, South Western Railway – Serving passengers with a smile


                                                       SOUTH WESTERN RAILWAY

                                              Press Release No.2 Dt. 04-04-2017

  South Western Railway – Serving passengers with a smile

Indian Railways is proud to be a partner in the nation’s progress and South Western Railway is plays a significant role in the socio-economic development of Karnataka state.

South Western Railway is committed to serving the passenger with a smile and priority is being given to safety, security, punctuality and better facilities to the passengers.

Passenger Traffic

SWR has carried more than 193 million passengers during the current financial year 2016-17, with 2 % increase over the previous year.The originating passenger earning for this financial year is Rs.1928.96 Crs with 1.83% increase over the previous year.

Trains services:

12 pairs of new train services were introduced during the financial year against o­ne biweekly express Trains No.11031/32 – Solapur-Vijayapura introduced in 2015-16.Out of these 12 trains, 4 pairs are MEMU services introduced for the convenience of suburban passengers and easy connectivity to Bengaluru and its suburbs.

  1. Train No.22679/80 Yeshvantpur – Hassan – Yeshwantpur Daily Intercity Express.

  2. Train No. 16581/16582KSR Bengaluru – Shivamogga –KSR Bengaluru Tri-Weekly Express.

  3. Train No. 17022/17021 Vasco da gama – Hyderabad – Vasco da gamaWeekly Express.

  4. Train No. 17420/17419 Vasco da gama –Tirupati – Vasco da gama Weekly Express

  5. Train No. 22888/22887 Yeshvantpur – Howrah –YeshwantpurWeekly Humsafar Express

  6. Train No. 66535/66536/66537/66538/66539/66540 Bengaluru – Ramangaram – K S R BengaluruMEMU Services

  7. Train No. 66542/66541Bengaluru – Whitefield – BengaluruMEMU Services

  8. Train No. 66544/66543 Bengaluru – Kuppam – Bengaluru MEMU Services

  9. Train No. 57478/57477 Kalyandurga – Tirupati – Kalyandurga Passenger

  10. Train No.12503/12504 Bengaluru Cantt. -Kamhkya- Bengaluru Cantt Weekly Humsafar Express

  11. Train No.14715/14716 Sriganganagar- Trichnapalli weekly Hamsafar Express.

  12. Train No.56927/56928 Hubballi – Chikkabenakal fast passenger express

In addition frequency of service of o­ne train was increased, five trains extended, four trains with diverted route.

To suite the timings of passengers, change in timings of five pairs of trains were revised during the year 2016-17. Further stoppage has been provided o­n experimental basis for 45 trains at different stations against 10 trains during the previous year o­n SWR .

Two pairs of trains Train No. 22501/22502, New Tinsukiya – KSR Bengaluru& Train No.22697/22698 Hubballi – Chennai Centralhave been upgraded from express to superfast.34 trains over SWR have been speeded up to reach /leave the station.

To provide better and comfortable journey 4 trains have been upgraded from conventional coaches to LHB coaches. So also coaches of 3 Railbus with conventional coaches have been upgraded to MEMU coaches.

New Sections opened for traffic

The Railways are the lifeline of the nation and three new sections have been opened fortraffic in Karnataka during this financial year.

  1. Yeswantpur - Hassan via Nelamangala,

  2. Ginigera - Chikkabenakal

  3. Rayadurga - Kalyandurga


                                                                            Chief Public Relations Officer/Hubballi


  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.