Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Press Release No.11 Dt. 09-04-201711-04-2017


                                                       SOUTH WESTERN RAILWAY

                                              Press Release No.11 Dt. 09-04-2017


         Shri Suresh Prabhakar Prabhu, Hon’ble Minister for Railways flagged off T.No. 16576/16575, Mangaluru Junction-Yesvantpur- Mangaluru Junction Tri-Weekly Express today, through Video Link from Panaji, Goa.He also dedicated the newly electrified section between Mangaluru Junction/Mangaluru Central & Charvattur Stations (82 KM) and New Double Line between Panambur and Jokatte.Indian Railways ismaking continuouseffortsto make Railway services more accessible to new areas. With flagging off of this train service, the demand of public to run a new train between Mangaluru and Bengaluru via Hassan, Shravanabelagola, Chikkabanavar line has been fulfilled.This direct line reduces the distance between Mangaluru and Bengaluru there by saves the time and provides quickerand convenientmode of transportation to the public. Speaking o­n the occasion Hon’ble Minister for Railways said that 16% of sections carry 60% of traffic causing congestion. Hence, Railway Ministry has given preference to doubling work for congestion free traffic movement. In the last 75 years, 15,000 KM sanctioned for doubling andin the last 3 years12,500 KMof doubling work has been sanctioned over Indian Railways.Mangaluru-Yesvantpur train was announced 15 days back andintroduced today which runs with less travel time between Mangaluru and Bengaluru. ERP is going to be implemented in Railways which shall result in huge savings for Railways (Savings of Rs. 6500 Crores). JV has been signed with 17 State Governmentsand 12 JVs are already started functioning.In Indian Railways 40% of route o­nly electrified.In the next five years, about 90% of the route is planned for electrification, he said.

At Mangaluru Junction, Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda, Hon’ble Union Minister for Statistics & Programme Implementation; Shri Ramanatha Rai, Hon’ble Minister for Forest, Ecology & Environment, Govt. Of Karnataka;Smt. Kavita Sanil, Worshipful Mayor of Mangaluru City Corporation; Shri Nalinkumar Kateel, Hon’ble Member of Parliament, Dakshina Kannada;Shri J.R. Lobo, Hon’ble MLA;Shri Ivan D’ Souza, Hon’ble MLC;Smt. Meenakshi Shantigodu, Hon’ble President of Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat;Shri Atul Gupta, Divisional Railway Manager of Mysuru Division of South Western Railway ; Shri Naresh Lalwani, Divisional Railway Manager of Palakkad Division of Southern Railwayand others were present.

Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda thanked the Railway Minister for introducing this train service and said that day time train between Bengaluru and Mangaluru will help Senior Citizens , Ladies and travellers in ghat Section.He requested the Railway Minister to extend the service of this train from Mangaluru Junction to Mangaluru Central and also to extend the service of this train from tri-weekly to daily.Shri Ramanatha Rai, requested the Railways to speed up the newly introduced train so that travelling time will get reduced. Shri Nalinkumar Katil appreciated theprogress of various works undertaken by the railways which ensures the completion of work within the time limit.Shri Ivan D’Souza, Hon’ble MLC has also spoken o­n the occasion.

The regular service of Train No. 16575/16576, Yesvantpur-Mangaluru Junction- Yesvantpur Tri-Weekly Express will commence with effect from 11th April, 2017 from Yesvantpur end & from 12thApril, 2017 Mangaluru Junction end.


Train No. 16575, Yesvantpur-Mangaluru Junction Tri-Weekly Express departs Yesvantpur at 07:50 hrs o­n Sunday, Tuesday & Thursday and reaches Mangaluru Junction at 17.30 hrs o­n the same day.

Enroute, the train arrives/departs Chikbanavar at 07:58/08:00 hrs., Nelamangala at 08:11/08:12 hrs., Kunigal at 08:55/08:56 hrs., Yediyuru at 09:11/09:12 hrs., B.G. Nagar at 09:24/09:25 hrs., Shravanabelegola at 09:53/09:55 hrs., Channarayapatna at 10:01/10:03 hrs, Hassan at 10:55/11:00 Hrs, Sakleshpur at 12:00/12:05 Hrs., Subrahmanya Road at 14:25/14:30 Hrs., Kabakaputtur at 15:13/15:15 and Bantawala at 16:08/16:10 Hrs.


        In the return direction, Train No. 16576, Mangaluru Junction Yesvantpur Tri-Weekly Express departs from Mangaluru Junction at 11:30 Hrs. o­n Monday, Wednesday and Friday and reaches Yesvantpur at 20:30 Hrs. o­n same the day.

Enroute, the train arrives/departs Bantawala at 11:56/11:58 Hrs, Kabakaputtur at 12:20/12:22. Subrahmanya Road at 13:05/13:10 Hrs Sakleshpur at 15:35/15:45 Hrs., Hassan at 16:45/16:50 Hrs,., Channarayapatna at 17:28/17:30 hrs Shravanabelegola at 17:40/17:42 hrs., B.G. Nagar at 18:19/18:20 hrs., Yediyuru at 18:34/18:35 hrs., Kunigal at 18:53/18:54 hrs Nelamangala at 19:39/19:40 hrs., and Chikbanavar at 19:58/20:00 Hrs.,


The regular train composition will have 14 coaches comprising of SevenSecond Class Chair Car Coaches, Five General Second class Coaches and Two Second Class Luggage-cum- Brakevan/Disabled Coaches.


                                                                            Chief Public Relations Officer/Hubballi

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.