Bookmark Mail this page Print this page


Bangalore Division came into existence on 27-07-1981. This division was carved out from the erstwhile Mysore Division.This division is on a BG system and encompasses 11 districts of 3 states of India, i.e. Karnataka, Tamil Nadu & Andhra Pradesh. There are 5 major sections in the division, which are SBC-JTJ, SBC-DMM, SBC-MYS, SBC-TK & SBC-SA,.HAS-SBGA. Other smaller sections are YNK-CBP, BWT-KQZ,BWT-MKM, KJM-CSDR, YPR-YNK & YPR-BYPL (via HEB & BAND).

Coaching Depots

There are two major Coaching Maintenance Depots in the division, one at Bangalore City, which is classified as Mega Coaching Depot with a coach holding of 1134 coaches and is managed by a Sr.Scale Officer (CDO). The other Coaching Depot is at Yeshwanthpur, which is approximately 5 kms away from Bangalore and has a holding of 654 coaches. This depot is managed by a Sr.Scale Officer (CDO).The third Coaching terminal at BYPL (erstwhile wagon depot) has commenced coaching maintenance activities from 13/03/2013. This depot is managed by a Sr.Supervisor (SSE).

    Wagon Depots

There is One Wagon Maintenance Depots at Satellite Goods Terminal, Whitefield (SGT) where most of the freight trains originate / terminate in Bangalore Division.The CONCOR (Container Corporation) is also located at SGT. All the freight activities are monitored by DME/F&O/SBC.

Freight Loading:

The major freight loading point in Bangalore Division is at CONCOR siding Whitefield. Other freight loading points are at Dharmapuri, Hosur, Mandya, Bidadi, Dodballapur, Coromandel, Bangarpet and Vimanapuram.

     Breakdown Special

‘A’ Class ART with Re-railing equipment and Cowan Sheldon make 140 T Crane is stationed at SBC.

AMRV scale-1 is also stationed at SBC

Source : South Western Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 11-12-2017