Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Press Release No. 25012-09-2023

                                   दक्षिण पश्चिम रेलवे / SOUTH WESTERN RAILWAY

प्रेस विज्ञप्ति / Press Release No. 250 dated 12.09.2023


The 23rd meeting of the Zonal Railway Users Consultative Committee o­n South Western Railway was held today at Hubballi. The meeting was chaired by General Manager, Shri Sanjeev Kishore.

The meeting is convened for better representation and consultation with all Railway stakeholders.  In today’s meeting, issues and concerns pertaining to passenger amenities, train service and infrastructure development were discussed in detail.

General Manager Shri Sanjeev Kishore welcomed all the members and highlighted several achievements such as achievements of first place among all zonal railways in terms of Key Performance Indices (KPI) in 2022-23.  He stated that SWR has also been adjudged as best performing railway zone during ‘Swachchta Pakhwara 2022’ by Ministry of Railways.  He said that over 50 stations of SWR are being redeveloped including Vasco-da-gama, Mysuru & SSS Hubballi. 

He further mentioned that 83 number of special trains run and 1798 number of additional coaches were added for the convenience of the passengers during festival and holiday seasons. He further elaborated upon infrastructure development projects and assured that SWR is leaving no stone unturned in enhancement of connectivity & passenger amenities. He mentioned that already 71% of SWR network is already electrified.  In 2022-23, 228 km New line & Doubling and 874 RKM electrification (highest ever) was completed.

Members were also briefed about various issues related to passenger amenities, infrastructure development, train services like additional stoppage, increase in frequency of trains and construction of ROBs/RUBs. They congratulated Hon’ble Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi for introduction of South India’s first Vande Bharat Express Service.

Shri Narayana Koragappa Hon’ble MP, Rajya Sabha; Shri Nilesh Cabral, Hon’ble Minister of Legislative Affairs, Environment, Law and Judiciary & Public Works Department; Govt. of Goa and other ZRUCC members were present.

ZRUCC Members who attended the meeting:

Shri G. K. Adappagoudar, Shri Venu Yadav, Shri Ravi Kumar Vemulapalli, Shri Damodardas R. Rathi, Shri Vinay J. Javali, Shri M Babu Rao, Shri Devanand S. Naik Bhandari, Shri K V Vasantha Kumar, Shri Mahendra H. Singhi, Shri Suresh Kumar, Shri Macherla Sukumar, Capt. Himanshu Shekhar,Shri P. K. Deivasigamani, Shri Krishnamurthy P. & Shri Prasad D. Kulkarni

Shri U. Subba Rao, Additional General Manager, Principal Heads of departments, senior officers of South Western Railway were present during the meeting.

Shri. Kishore assured that earnest efforts would be made by SWR in fulfilling the various demands and suggestions put forth by ZRUCC members which represent the needs of various railway stakeholders.

                                                                                          Aneesh Hegde
                                                                                Chief Public Relations Officer                                                                                                  South Western Railway, Hubballi

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.