Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
Press Release No. 12601-07-2024
Meeting of Minister of State for Railways and Jal Shakti, Government of India with Members of Parliament, Members of Legislative Assembly, and Members of Legislative Council on Railway Developmental Projects over Bengaluru region


Press Release No. 126 dt 29.06.2024

Meeting of Minister of State for Railways and Jal Shakti, Government of India with Members of Parliament, Members of Legislative Assembly, and Members of Legislative Council o­n Railway Developmental Projects over Bengaluru region

The Hon’ble Minister of State for Railways and Jal Shakti, Government of India, Shri V. Somanna, convened a significant meeting today with the Members of Parliament (MPs), Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs), and Members of Legislative Council (MLCs) residing at Bengaluru, Karnataka to discuss and review the progress of various railway developmental projects over Bengaluru region.

During the meeting, the Minister emphasized the government's commitment to enhancing railway infrastructure in Karnataka, highlighting the importance of collaborative efforts between the central and state governments. Key projects under discussion included the completed/ongoing new lines, doubling electrification projects, stations redevelopment, and the introduction of new passenger amenities at stations in Karnataka State.

Sushri Shobha Karandlaje, Hon’ble Minister of State for Micro, Small & Medium Enterprises and Labour & Employment, Government of India, Shri Ramalinga Reddy, Hon’ble Minister for Transport & Muzrai, Govt of Karnataka and Shri Dinesh Gundurao, Hon’ble Minister for Health & Family Welfare Govt. of Karnataka, also graced this meeting.

Following the Hon’ble MPs, MLAs and MLCs who also graced the meeting.




Shri P C Mohan Hon’ble MP Bangalore Central


Shri Tejasavi Surya Hon’ble MP Bangalore South


Shri Mallesh Babu, Hon’ble MP Kolar


Shri K Narayan Hon’ble MP, Rajya Sabha


Shri Munirathna Hon’ble MLA Rajarajeswar Nagar


Shri S T Somashekar Hon’ble MLA Yeshwantapura


Shri Muniraju . S Hon’ble MLA Dasarahalli


Dr. C N Ashwath Narayan, Hon’ble MLA, Malleshwaram


Shri. B. A. Basavaraj, Hon’ble MLA, K.R.Puram


Shri H S Gopinath Reddy, Hon’ble MLC


Shri N A Harris Honble MLA, Shantinagar

Key Highlights of the Meeting:

The meeting focused o­n the extensive expansion of railway infrastructure across Karnataka, aimed at enhancing connectivity and reducing travel times for passengers. Key projects discussed included the Bengaluru Suburban Railway Project, new lines, doubling, quadrupling, and a circular railway network connecting the Bengaluru region. The completion timelines for these crucial projects were emphasized to ensure timely delivery and operational efficiency.

Another significant agenda was the redevelopment plans for major stations such as Bengaluru Cantonment, Yesvantpur, Tumakuru, and others under the Amrit Bharat Station Scheme. These redevelopment efforts aim to transform these stations into world-class facilities with modern amenities. Features like improved waiting areas, advanced ticketing systems, and enhanced accessibility for differently-abled individuals were highlighted to prioritize passenger comfort and convenience.

The meeting also addressed the phased elimination of Level Crossings (LCs) with the construction of Road Over Bridges (ROBs) and Road Under Bridges (RUBs) with 100% project cost borne by Railways instead of cost sharing with State Government. This initiative is crucial for enhancing safety and operational efficiency across the railway network. Additionally, the introduction of new passenger trains and additional stoppages within the Bengaluru region was discussed to cater to the growing demand for railway services.

All Hon’ble MPs, MLAs, and MLCs actively participated in the discussions, providing valuable insights and suggestions to expedite the projects. They expressed their gratitude to the Minister for the proactive approach and assured their support in addressing any challenges that may arise.

In his concluding remarks, the Minister of State for Railways & Jal shakti reaffirmed the government's commitment to transforming Karnataka's railway network. Continuous monitoring and timely execution of projects were assured to ensure the realization of enhanced railway services, contributing to improved connectivity, economic growth, and overall development of the state.

This meeting marks a significant step towards the realization of enhanced railway services in Karnataka, promising improved connectivity, economic growth and over all development of the stake.

Shri Arvind Srivastava, General Manager of South Western Railway; Shri Yogesh Mohan, Divisional Railway Manager, Bengaluru; Shri Ramgopal, Chief Administrative Officer (Construction); Shri Aneesh Hegde, Joint Director (PG) to Hon’ble MoSR; Principal Heads of Departments of South Western Railway; Dr. Manjunath Kanamadi, Chief Public Relations Officer; and senior officials from the Karnataka State Government also attended the meeting

                                                                        Dr. Manjunath Kanamadi

                                                       Chief Public Relations Officer

                                                     South Western Railway, Hubballi 

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.