Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page


Traction Distribution branch of Bengaluru Division was formed on March 11,1991 when the Division was a part of Southern Railway. The first AC locomotive hauled train was run between Jolarpetai Jn and KSR Bengalur stations on May 16,1992.Thereafter no significant progress in electrification for quite a long .In 2003,Bangaluru Division become a part of the newly formed South Western Railway zone and this give a thrust to the electrification of other sections as in the following chronological list.                 

  • Jolarpettai Jn-KSR Bengaluru : May 1992
  • Chennasandra-Yelahanka       : January 2009  
  • Yesvantpur-Baiyappanahalli   : July 2009
  • Bangarapet- Marikuppam       : March 2012
  • Yesvantpur- Yelahanka          : March 2012
  • Yelahanka-Dharmavaram        : July 2016
  • Bangalore- Mysore            : December 2017
At present 525 Route Kilomiters consisting of 929 Track Kilometers is electrified. Electrification of Biayappanahalli- Omalur and  Chikkabanawar-Tumkuru sections are also sanctioned and preliminary works are in progress.Proposals submitted to Railway Board for Bangarapet-Kolar-Yelahanka and Chikkabanawar-Hasan sections 
Six Traction Substations at Bangarapet, Whitefield,Someshwara,Bidadi Malguru and Sathyashanthi Prasanthi Nilayam feeding power supply to Over Head Equipments.The section between Jolarpettai and Kuppam fed by Tirupattur TSS of Southern Railway feeding.
State owned power distribution companies BESCOM,APSPDCL & TANGEDCO are supplying power supply for traction in respective states.However open access procurement of power is planned for the future and the import of power through open access route already started.As of now  now 10 MW of power is being  imported from M/s Ratnagiri Gas and Power Limited through state and central transmission utilities to the traction substations at Someshwara and whitefield.  



Sr DEE/TRD is the over all incharge for traction maintenance activities and assisted by DEE/TRD and ADEE/TRD. There are eight TRD maintenance depots for maintenance and break down attention of Over Head Equipments and Power Supply Installations. The depots are equiped with Tower wagons and road vehicles.Traction power supply is monitored by the Traction Power Control centre situated at Bangaluru control office through state of the art SCADA systems. This unit is also co coordinating the electrification activities under execution through CORE RVNL and Construction organisations

Source : South Western Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 19-12-2017  

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.