Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

About Us
      Mechanical Branch
         About Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page
About Us


South Western Railway operates coaches, DEMU, MEMU and wagons on broad gauge. These assets are being maintained in good fettle by the Mechanical Branch to provide safe and reliable transportation of Passengers and Goods.

Following are the major activities of Mechanical Department.

POH of BG ICF Coaches/MEMU/DEMU/LHB/tower Cars and IOH of BG ICF coaches and LHB Coaches in Workshops.

Primary Maintenance of Passenger rakes, Goods rakes and other specified departmental Trains in the divisions. 

In order to maintain coaches and wagons, South Western Railway has following: 

 Two workshops:

ØCarriage Workshop, Hubli (UBLS)

ØCentral Workshops, Mysuru (MYSS)

 One DEMU Shed:

ØDEMU Shed, Bengaluru Cant. (BNC)

 One MEMU Shed:

ØMEMU Shed, Banasawadi (BAND) 

6 Coaching Maintenance Depots:

Major Coaching Depots 

ØBengaluru (SBC)

ØYeshwantpur (YPR)

ØMysuru (MYS)

ØHubli (UBL)

Minor Coaching depots are

ØArsikere (ASK)

ØVasco-de-Gama (VSG)

 6 Wagon maintenance depots & 2 Brake Power Upgradation Facility 

Major Wagon Depot

ØHospet, Hubli Division (HPT)

ØSatellite Goods Terminal, Whitefield, Bangalore Division (SGT) 

Minor Wagon Depot

ØNavlur, Hubli Division (NUV)

ØJSW, Hubli Division (JSW)

ØHarihar, Mysore Division (HRR)

ØMysuru New Goods Terminal, Mysore Division (MNGT) 

ROH activities are carried out at HPT, NUV, SGT, and MNGT

Brake Power Upgradation Facility 

ØCastle Rock (CLR)

ØSakaleshpur (SKLR)

 ART’s are maintained at:

ØHubli (UBL)

ØCastle Rock (CLR)

ØHospet (HPT)

ØVasco-Da-Gama (VSG)

ØBengaluru (SBC)

ØArisekere  (ASK)

ØSakaleshpur (SKLR)

ARMV’s are maintained at:

ØCastle Rock (CLR)

ØArisekere (ASK)

ØSakaleshpur (SKLR)

ØShivamogga Town (SMET)

SPART’s are maintained at:

ØHubli (UBL)

ØVijayapur (BJP)

ØBengaluru (SBC)

ØMysuru  (MYS)

ØHarihar (HRR)


Source : South Western Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 07-06-2024  

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.