Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

News & Recruitment


Construction Projects

Commercial ,Freight Information & Public Information

For IR Personnel

Contact Us

About Us
         Mechanical Branch
            About Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page



               Bangalore Division came into existence on 27-07-1981. This division was carved out from the erstwhile Mysore Division.This division is on a BG system and encompasses 11 districts of 3 states of India, i.e. Karnataka, Tamil Nadu & Andhra Pradesh.There are 5 major sections in the division, which are SBC-JTJ, SBC-DMM, SBC-MYS, SBC-TK & SBC-SA,.HAS-SBGA. Other smaller sections are YNK-CBP, BWT-KQZ,BWT-MKM, KJM-CSDR, YPR-YNK & YPR-BYPL (via HEB & BAND).

Coaching Depots:-   There are two major Coaching Maintenance Depots in the division, one at Bangalore City, which  is classified as Mega Coaching Depot with a coach holding of 1134 coaches and is managed by a Sr.Scale Officer (CDO). The other Coaching Depot is at Yesvanthpur, which is approximately 5 kms away from Bangalore and has a holding of 654 coaches. This depot is managed by a Sr.Scale Officer (CDO). The third Coaching terminal at BYPL (erstwhile wagon depot) has commenced coaching maintenance activities from 13/03/2013. This depot is managed by a Sr.Supervisor (SSE).

Wagon Depot:- There is One Wagon Maintenance Depots at Satellite Goods Terminal, Whitefield (SGT) where most of the freight trains originate / terminate in Bangalore Division.The CONCOR (Container Corporation) is also located at SGT. All the freight activities are monitored by DME/F&O/SBC.

      Freight Loading: The major freight loading point in Bangalore Division is at CONCOR siding
         Whitefield. Other freight loading points are at Dharmapuri, Hosur, Mandya, Bidadi, Dodballapur,
          Coromandel, Bangarpet and Vimanapuram.

    Breakdown Special:-‘A’ Class ART with Re-railing equipment and Cowan Sheldon make 140 T Crane is stationed at SBC.  AMRV scale-1 is also stationed at SBC .

        All the mechanical activities in the division are manged under the control of one JAG officer (Senior Divisional Mechanical Engineer).  Address for contact:-
                            Office of the Senior Divisional Mechanical Engineer,
                                           3rd floor, Divisional office,
                            DRM office building, Next to city railway station,
                                      Bangalore-560023 Ph/Fax: 080-22876509

Source : South Western Railway CMS Team Last Reviewed : 16-12-2017  

  SWR Personnel-Web Mail | Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.